South Carolina Higher Education
Tuition Grants Commission
(803) 896-1120

Agency Staff

Earl Mayo


Earl has been a member of the Tuition Grants Commission staff since April 1995.  He first served as Deputy Director until being promoted to Director in October 2008.  He has worked in the financial aid profession since 1985 serving previously at the University of South Carolina-Columbia, the South Carolina Student Loan Corporation, and the University of South Carolina-Aiken.  He served as a Journalist in the United States Navy before obtaining Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from the University of South Carolina-Columbia.

Katie Harrison

Deputy Director

Katie joined the Tuition Grants Commission as Deputy Director in 2009, after having previously worked as a financial aid administrator at the University of South Carolina, Lander University, and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College.  As the Deputy Director, Katie is responsible for all operating and administrative functions of the agency, including program compliance and administration, information technology, information and data security, human resources, procurement, reporting, and general office administration.  She received her Bachelor’s Degree in Communications from Oglethorpe University, graduating Magna Cum Laude,  and her Master’s Degree in Higher Education Administration from the University of South Carolina.  Katie is an active member of the SC Association of Student Financial Administrators (SCASFAA).  The Association honored her with the Emerging Leader Award in 2010.  Katie has served SCASFAA as President, Secretary, and Newsletter Editor, in addition to volunteering for a number of committees since joining in 2002.  She is also a member of the Southern Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators, the SC Information Technology Directors Association, the SC Chapter of the International Public Management Association for Human Resources, and the International Association of Privacy Professionals.

Zachary Christian

Financial Aid Counselor

Zachary joined the Tuition Grants Commission in November, 2016, after working as a Financial Aid Counselor at Winthrop University.  In this position, he functions as the first point of contact for students and families throughout the state, as well as the primary liaison to the financial aid administrators at each of the program’s participating colleges.  Zachary graduated from Winthrop University where he earned Bachelor of Arts degrees in both Music and History.  During his undergraduate studies at Winthrop, Zachary was a very active student on campus.  He volunteered with the Winthrop Ambassadors, worked as an Admissions Counselor Assistant, was inducted into Phi Alpha Theta: National History Honor Society, and served as Safe Zone Student Coordinator in Student Affairs.  Since joining the financial aid profession, Zachary has been an active member of the South Carolina Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (SCASFAA), and currently serves as Member-at-Large for the 2016-2017 academic year.  He is also a member of the Southern Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (SASFAA).

Gena Miles

Financial Officer

Gena was employed by the Tuition Grants Commission as a temporary employee in March of 1977 as a Data Entry Operator through the co-op work study program while attending the Business Education studies Department at Spring Valley High School.  As a result of her exemplary job performance, the agency hired her as a permanent employee in August of 1977.  Gena has assisted with many duties of the Commission throughout the years while observing the growth in the number of Tuition Grants recipients due to the importance of a quality education. Her studies of higher learning have included accounting and marketing at Columbia College and computer programming at Midlands Technical College.  Gena is an active member of, and served four years as Secretary for, the Ladies Auxilary of Lake Wateree VFW Post.  She has been a member of the SC Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (SCASFAA) since 1993 and is enjoying the opportunities recently provided for participation in the association by serving actively on multiple annual conference committees.  She accepted her current position with the Tuition Grants Commission as the fiscal Technician in 1990, a position in which she handles the financial operations of the Tuition Grants Commission, which includes communication with the State Treasurer’s Office, Comptroller General’s Office, State Budget Office, the State Auditor’s Office and financial aid officials of the participating colleges.